Thursday, August 26, 2010

Bharat Stage emissions standards (Bharat IV)

Bharat Stage emissions standards are emissions standards instituted by the Government of the Republic of India (Bharat) that regulate the output of air pollutants (such as nitrogen oxides (NOx), carbon monoxide (CO), hydrocarbons (HC), particulate matter (PM), soot, and, where applicable, sulfur oxides (SOx)) by internal combustion engine powered equipment, including motor vehicles, or other air polluting facilities or equipment. In many cases they are similar to European emissions standards.

  • 1991 - Idle CO Limits for Gasoline Vehicles and Free Acceleration Smoke for Diesel Vehicles, Mass Emission Norms for Gasoline Vehicles.
  • 1992 - Mass Emission Norms for Diesel Vehicles.
  • 1996 - Revision of Mass Emission Norms for Gasoline and Diesel Vehicles, mandatory fitment of Catalytic Converter for Cars in Metros on Unleaded Gasoline.
  • 1998 - Cold Start Norms Introduced.
  • 2000 - India 2000 (Eq. to Euro I) Norms, Modified IDC (Indian Driving Cycle), Bharat Stage II Norms for Delhi.
  • 2001 - Bharat Stage II (Eq. to Euro II) Norms for All Metros, Emission Norms for CNG & LPG Vehicles.
  • 2003 - Bharat Stage II (Eq. to Euro II) Norms for 11 major cities. 
  • 2005 - From 1st April Bharat Stage III (Eq. to Euro III) Norms for 11 major cities. 
  • 2010 - Bharat Stage III Emission Norms for 4-wheelers for entire country whereas Bharat Stage - IV (Eq. to Euro IV) for 11 major cities.

No comments:

Post a Comment