Wednesday, August 25, 2010

CMMI( Capability Maturity Model Integration)Levels of software Industry

This is an industry-standerd model for defining and measuring the maturity of a software company's development process and for providing direction on what they can do to improve their software was developed by the software development community along with the software engineering institute(SEI).
It has 5 Levels

Level One(CMMI1)
Company has no standard process for software development. Nor does it have a project-tracking system that enables developers to predict costs or finish dates with any accuracy.

Level Two(CMMI2)
Company has installed basic software management processes and controls. But there is no consistency or coordination among different groups.

Level Three(CMMI3)
Company has pulled together a standard set of processes and controls for the entire organization so that developers can move between projects more easily and customers can begin to get consistency from different groups.

Level Four(CMMI4)
In addition to implementing standard processes company has installed systems to measure the quality of those processes across all projects.

Level Five(CMMI5)
Company has accomplished all of the above and can now begin to see patterns in performance over time so it can tweak its processes in order to improve productivity and reduce defects in software development across the entire organization.
Level 1 Initial
Level 2 Repeatable
Level 3 Defined
Level 4 Managed
Level 5 Optimizing

No comments:

Post a Comment